Honorary Freemen of the Borough

The Honorary Freedom of the Metropolitan Borough of Wigan is the highest honour which the Council can bestow. It is conferred upon people who have, in the opinion of the Council, made an eminent and distinguished contribution to the life of the Borough. It is an entirely honorary position, bringing no special rights, but is intended to reflect the esteem of the wider community.

The Freedom of the Borough

11 May 1988

  • Anthony Bernard Coyle OBE, JP*
  • Thomas Isherwood JP*
  • Albert Edward Tattum MBE*

1 November 2000

  • Joseph Clarke OBE*

6 December 2000

  • Frank Atherton*
  • William John Boston MBE
  • Wilfred Brogan BEM*
  • Avril Fishwick OBE, DL*
  • Katharine Mary Fussell*
  • William Hampson
  • John Edward Hilton JP
  • Thomas Sale*
  • Albert Waterfield MBE

30 August 2007

  • David Whelan

27 February 2008

  • Royal Mercian and Lancastrian Yeomanry (TA Reserve)

7 December 2011

  • Lord Smith of Leigh*

* deceased


Rate the information on this page

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)

© Wigan Council