Meeting our equality duty

The Public Sector Equality Duty or “general duty” created under the Equality Act 2010, requires us to have a due regard to:

  • Eliminating unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • Advancing equality of opportunity between different groups
  • Fostering good relations between different groups.

The general duty is supported by two “specific duties” which requires us to:

  • Publish information to show compliance with the equality duty every year
  • Publish specific and measureable equality objectives at least every 4 years.

Protected characteristics

The general duty protects people from discrimination on the basis of certain categories which are known as 'protected characteristics'. These include:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage / civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation.

In addition to the nine protected characteristics above, we also include 'Carers' and 'Armed Forces Personnel' in our Equality Impact Assessments.

See the Equality and Human Rights Commission (external link) for further guidance.


Rate the information on this page

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)

© Wigan Council